LS ELECTRIC (010120) _ The company that divides and interrupts electricity
LS ELECTRIC (010120) _ The company that divides and interrupts electricity
1 · Business model — what it sells, and how that becomes money
This company sells utilities, data centres, EPC contractors and capex-heavy manufacturers the devices and systems that divide and interrupt electricity safely — earning at home through repeat sales via exclusive dealers, and abroad through project awards routed via its local subsidiaries.
Those three sites are what the domestic capacity table covers [Fact]. Separately, the company has switchboard manufacturing in the United States — subsidiary MCM Engineering II (Iron County, Utah) and the Bastrop, Texas campus [Press]. The Utah plant is mid-way through a USD 168m project to triple switchboard capacity and expand the factory sixfold, part of a stated USD 240m investment across North American sites through 2030 [Press]. The utilisation table further down covers the three domestic plants only.
Where the profit comes from — 92.3% in one segment
The smallest segment-profit unit disclosed is pre-tax profit, not operating profit (segment operating profit is not disclosed — unverifiable). H1 2026 cumulative · KRW millions (USD 1 = KRW 1,400 for the equivalents quoted in the text).
| Segment | Revenue | Pre-tax profit | Pre-tax margin | Share of profit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power | 3,273,963 | 283,290 | 8.65% | 92.3% |
| Metals | 362,876 | 11,531 | 3.18% | 3.8% |
| Automation | 283,183 | 8,160 | 2.88% | 2.7% |
| IT | 81,320 | 3,892 | 4.79% | 1.3% |
| Common · consolidation | −1,047,792 | 3,845 | — | — |
| Consolidated total | 2,953,550 | 310,718 | 10.52% | 100% |
How to read it — revenue spans four segments, but profit is effectively one segment. Automation at 2.88% and Metals at 3.18% contribute almost nothing (the company attributes weak automation demand to slower EV-related capex [Company]). Concentration this heavy means a single line — Power's pricing and margin — decides group earnings [Interpretation].
Denominator note — the 92.3% share is measured against the four segments' sum (306,873); against the consolidated total (310,718), including common items, it is 91.2% [Calc]. · Segment operating profit — filings split segments only down to pre-tax profit [Fact]. On the company's own earnings materials, Q2 Power revenue of KRW 1,091.5bn (~$780m) and operating profit of KRW 137.4bn (~$98m) (+50.8% YoY) are reported [Press] — not a filed figure, so it is kept out of the table above.
Customers and channels — apparent concentration is not real concentration
Buyers are not primarily buying price — they are buying qualification and queue position. Owner certification, delivery history and local type-test records are the entry gate, and with US lead times stretched from one year to three or four, "can I even get one?" becomes the utility itself [Interpretation].
2 · Market — size, what growth actually is, and the ceiling
Stated inconsistency — the market size (USD 81.4bn) is a press citation of third-party statistics at a single point in time. With no three-year measured series available, this report treats market size as a coordinate, not evidence. Domestic market size is unverifiable: the company omits share and size disclosure in the half-year report, citing competition-law limits on sharing information among rivals (share figures below are from the FY2025 annual report). Basis note — in "backlog ÷ prior-year revenue = 1.41×" the numerator is parent-only and the denominator consolidated; the arithmetic is right, but read it as a reference coordinate only [Calc].
What the backlog is made of — contracts, not narrative
| Carried forward (end-2025) | KRW 5,015.4bn (~$3.6bn) |
| + New orders (H1 2026) | 3,467.7bn (~$2.48bn) |
| − Delivered | 1,483.3bn (~$1.06bn) |
| = Backlog at 2026-06-30 | 6,999.8bn (~$5.00bn) |
| Split — Power T&D 6,889.6 · Rail 94.0 · Automation 16.2 | KRW bn |
New supply contracts signed in the last 12 months: 7 deals ≈ KRW 1,496.2bn (~$1.07bn) [Calc] — counting rule: first-announcement filings only, amended values where increased, two term-extension amendments excluded as older contracts.
Reconciliation note — the items listed above add to roughly KRW 1,379.5bn (~$986m), not 1,496.2bn. The gap is ① one disclosed contract not itemised here and ② the Wangshin fuel cell (2022-11), which falls outside the 12-month window and is excluded from the total [Calc]. The seven-deal total also differs from H1 new orders of KRW 3,467.7bn (~$2.48bn) — only contracts above a size threshold must be disclosed, so disclosed contracts are a subset of all orders [Fact].
An important reservation — a contract in the backlog does not have to become revenue. The Wangshin fuel cell is the counter-example, and the "~Dec 2026" column in the filing is the order date, not the delivery date (individual contract end dates run from 2026 to 2051). [Fact]
Three engines of demand · one variable that rewrites the rules
| Engine | Confirmed size | Timing | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| AI data-centre power equipment | 3 Big-Tech DC deals ≈ KRW 591.6bn (~$423m) | Under way | [Fact] contract filings |
| North American grid replacement · IOU renewables | KRW 459.8bn (~$328m) · to 2029.10 | Under way | [Fact] contract filings |
| Domestic HVDC · grid build-out | KRW 773.6bn (~$553m) (561.0 + 212.6) | Under way | [Fact] contract filings |
The dutiable base shifts from metal content value to full customs value [Fact]
A temporary 15% from 2026-04-06 through 2027-12-31; distribution transformers and power cable at 25% [Fact]. From 2028-01-01 the annex reverts to 25% as the default rate — expiry is the baseline, and extension requires a fresh measure [Fact].
The US-content threshold eases from 95% to 85% [Fact] · separately, copper under Section 232 at 50% (from 2025-08)
The provision cuts both ways. 15% may be favourable against competing imports, but it is temporary — if it is not extended and the eased US-content rule hardens into a preference for local production, the cost position of the export route and the local route can invert. (Conditional · verification point = the US Federal Register proclamation/annex amendments and Commerce Department announcements)
Views diverge — government and trade bodies read the temporary 15% as favourable for Korean UHV transformer exports [Press], while others argue the larger beneficiaries are makers able to build UHV transformers inside the United States [Press]. This report promotes neither to fact and records only that the fork exists.
The ceiling is capacity, not demand
| Output vs capacity (utilisation) | 2024 | 2025 | H1 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Power, total | 89.3% | 90.6% | 88.3% |
| Cheongju 1 (low/medium voltage) | — | — | 96.5% |
| Cheongju 2 (switchboards, GIS, transformers) | — | — | 89.3% |
| Busan (UHV transformers, HVDC) | — | — | 74.6% |
Cheongju 1 is effectively full at 96.5%, while Busan still has room at 74.6% — meaning the UHV line, the stage on which growth happens, can absorb more backlog without new capacity [Interpretation]. The Busan second plant was completed in 2025, and there were zero new domestic capex filings in the 12-month window [Fact·Calc]. That is a domestic-disclosure statement only: North American capacity expansion is confirmed by company announcements and press [Press] — it does not mean the company is not investing. Whether higher utilisation actually converts into revenue is only visible in quarterly output ÷ capacity.
Basis note — utilisation above covers the three domestic plants (parent). Power segment revenue (consolidated) includes overseas entities and subsidiaries, so it does not map one-to-one onto this table [Calc].
What comes next — the schedule is already written into the contracts
This market reads better as a calendar than as a forecast. The question is not what will sell, but when what has already been sold gets delivered — and what fills the slot after that. Below is a timeline drawn only from disclosed contract end dates and policy dates. (The period boundaries are [Fact]; the characterisation of each period is [Interpretation])
The fork — tariffs change not demand, but "who builds it"
| Branch | Premise (conditional) | What changes for this company |
|---|---|---|
| Extension / relief | A new extension or substitute relief measure arrives before expiry (2027-12-31) — with no measure at all, the second branch happens automatically | The domestic-build export route stays viable, and Busan's spare capacity (74.6%) remains room to load more backlog without new plants. |
| Expiry / local preference | The temporary provision lapses and the eased US-content rule hardens into a local-production preference | It splits by product. Switchboards and distribution gear may be cushioned by the accumulated Utah and Texas production [Press], while UHV transformers, built in Busan and shipped, are exposed to the tariff in full [Fact]. This period cannot be described in one direction. |
| Demand itself slows | North American Big Tech trims or defers data-centre capex plans | Regardless of tariffs, new orders stop before the backlog does — the backlog remains, but the following period empties out. |
This report does not predict which branch arrives. It records only the existence of the fork and how to verify it — the US Federal Register (proclamation and annex amendments) and Commerce Department announcements (during 2027), the quarterly backlog table, and customers' own capex announcements.
3 · Competition — an oligopoly at home, a different game abroad
At home the contest is certification and delivery history; in North America it is lead time and capacity. Strength in the first does not transfer automatically to the second.
A rating agency likewise describes the domestic market as "oligopolistic, above 60%" [Press·rating]. Credit rating AA− / positive (as of 2026-06) [Fact]
On top of that, the three-to-four-year lead time itself acts as a barrier right now — but that barrier was lent by the market cycle, not built by the company.
The competitive map — what is confirmed and what is not
| Rival | Strength | Position vs this company | Share | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other domestic low/medium-voltage suppliers | — | Behind | 36.2% combined (individually unverifiable) | [Fact] company estimate |
| HD Hyundai Electric | UHV transformer production inside the US | Unverifiable (the view that it benefits more from the tariff overhaul is interpretation) | Not disclosed | [Press] |
| Hyosung Heavy Industries | Same | Unverifiable | Not disclosed | [Press] |
| Iljin Electric | Joint-contract partner on the Yeonggwang solar project — rival and collaborator | Comparable | Not disclosed | [Fact] contract filing |
⚠ The limits of this table, stated up front — both editions of the periodic report decline to name competitors (handling them as "other 36.2%"), and the half-year report omits share disclosure altogether. Competitor-level share and relative position are therefore not established in this report. The three names above were carried in from press reports and contract filings into the author's own files, and claims such as "delivery 30% faster than rivals" remain [Press·interpretation] and are not promoted to fact.
4 · What the moat is made of, and how long it lasts [Interpretation]
| Source | Present | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Technology · patents | Yes | 5,152 patents · 179 newly registered in H1 · in-house HVDC valve, FACTS, PEBB development |
| Scale | Yes | 63.8% domestic low/medium voltage · H1 Power capacity across three plants KRW 2,204.6bn (~$1.57bn) |
| Switching costs | Yes | Protection coordination and standardisation force long re-verification when a product changes |
| Regulation · certification | Yes | IEC, CE, UL, CCC · owner registration and delivery history · in-house member-laboratory testing capability |
| Channel · reputation | Yes | 80.2% of domestic Power revenue flows through exclusive dealers — the network itself is an asset |
| Network effects | No | No evidence found |
5 · The numbers today — and where profit and cash flow point in different directions
| KRW millions (USD 1 = 1,400) | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | H1 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | 4,230,483 | 4,551,837 | 4,965,799 | 2,953,550 |
| Operating profit (margin) | 324,878 (7.68%) | 389,717 (8.56%) | 426,407 (8.59%) | 305,087 (10.33%) |
| Net profit (owners) | 205,962 | 238,716 | 286,623 | 239,063 |
| Operating cash flow | Annual series not reproduced here (see note) | — | −81,988 | |
Why did the margin jump? — the margin rose from 8.59% in 2025 to 10.33% in H1 2026 [Fact]. The price increases this report can verify (breakers +2.6%, ACB +3.0% [Fact]) do not account for a move that size. The reason offered by the company and the press is a change in product mix — Q2 UHV transformer revenue reportedly up 91.2% year on year, with North American revenue near KRW 400bn (~$286m), a quarterly record [Press]. This report does not promote that to fact and passes it to the verification points instead.
Turnover days — two points compared — receivable days rose from roughly 72 to 87, inventory days from roughly 41 to 45 (annualised revenue basis [Calc]). Because the denominator is revenue rather than cost of sales, read the direction only, not the absolute level.
Limits, stated — measured annual series for cost-of-sales and SG&A ratios, and segment operating profit on a filed basis, could not be obtained. The annual series for working-capital turnover days was likewise unavailable, so only the two-point comparison above was calculated. For operating cash flow, only the half-year figure (−KRW 82.0bn (~−$59m)) is carried in the text; the annual series is not reproduced in this report. No estimates were inserted into the blanks.
6 · What would change this picture — verification points
Only items verifiable in published material are listed. These are not directional predictions but coordinates readers can check for themselves.
| Item | Status now | Where · when it becomes visible |
|---|---|---|
| US Section 232 temporary rate | UHV transformers at 15% — expires 2027-12-31; reversion to 25% is the default from 2028 | US Federal Register (proclamation · annex amendments) and Commerce Department announcements · during 2027 |
| New-order pace | H1 2026 new orders KRW 3,467.7bn (~$2.48bn) · backlog 6,999.8bn (~$5.00bn) | Quarterly and half-year report order tables |
| Profit-to-cash conversion | H1 operating cash flow −KRW 82.0bn (~−$59m) · working capital rising | Quarterly cash-flow statement · turnover days |
| Margin's driver | H1 margin 10.33% — not explained by pricing alone · cause undetermined | Quarterly earnings materials: UHV and regional revenue mix |
| Busan utilisation | 74.6% — room left on the UHV line | Periodic report: output ÷ capacity |
| Power segment margin | Pre-tax margin 8.65% · 92.3% of group profit | Quarterly segment note |
| North American capacity | Utah and Texas switchboard sites expanding [Press] — unverifiable on a filed basis | Company announcements · local permitting · annual |
| Contract liabilities (advances) | On three-to-four-year lead-time contracts, advances land before revenue recognition — current trend unverified | Quarterly consolidated balance sheet |
| Public-tender sanction | KEPCO's six-month debarment is provisionally suspended · the appeal against the KFTC's (Korea Fair Trade Commission) corrective order continues | First-instance ruling · court decision |
| Contract not yet started | Wangshin fuel cell KRW 164.7bn (~$118m) — no notice to proceed in four years | Amended or new filing on receipt of NTP |
undetermined
undetermined
this report
댓글
댓글 쓰기